Les commentaires sont clos.

TRAC 2014 -- 5th International Workshop on TRaffic Analysis and Characterization

20 December 2013

Catégorie : Conférence internationale


TRAC 2014 -- 5th International Workshop on TRaffic Analysis and Characterization

Technically Sponsored by IEEE and FP7 mPlane

August 4-8 2014
Nicosia, CYPRUS




The continued evolution of the Internet is characterized by dramatic changes in the way users behave, interact with and use the network. Today's Internet content and applications are increasingly delivered by ever larger content delivery networks (CDNs) and cloud infrastructures.

Other changes in the Internet, such as the explosion of mobile traffic and the growing deployment of encryption (e.g. HTTPS Everywhere) demand new approaches for characterizing and analyzing network traffic. Malicious and abusive traffic continues to evolve as well, and techniques for detection must evolve in kind.

The fifth edition of the TRAC workshop continues to serve as a forum for scientists and engineers in academia and industry to exchange and discuss their experiences and research results about all aspects of traffic classification, characterization, and analysis.


The workshop is soliciting high quality papers discussing original and innovative experimental activities, unpublished and not currently submitted for publication elsewhere, on topics including (but not limited) to the following:

  • Traffic analysis and characterization algorithms and techniques
  • Detection, analysis, and classification of network anomalies
  • Platforms for on-line, real-time traffic analysis and characterization
  • Evaluation of traffic classification and analysis techniques
  • Data-reduction techniques for traffic analysis and visualization
  • Privacy-preservation in traffic analysis, classification, and characterization
  • Effects of anonymization on traffic analysis, classification, and characterization
  • Identification and classification of encrypted traffic
  • Advanced algorithms for deep packet inspection
  • Post-DPI approaches for traffic classification
  • Applications of traffic analysis to network security
  • Traffic analysis studies on operational networks and large-scale traffic data sets
  • Applications of traffic analysis to network operations and management
  • Ultra-high rate (10 - 100Gbit) traffic analysis, classification, and characterization
  • Analysis and characterization of mobile and wireless traffic
  • Forwarding-plane support for network measurement and analysis


Prospective authors are invited to submit their papers using the EDAS system.

Submitted papers must be no longer than six (6) IEEE style pages including results, figures and references. Papers will be reviewed by the standard reviewing procedure. Accepted papers will be published on the IEEE Xplore Digital Library


Paper submission: January 15, 2014
Notifications: March 15, 2014
Camera-ready: April 1, 2014


Workshop Chairs:

  • Pedro Casas (FTW Vienna Research Center, Austria)
  • Brian Trammell (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)

Honorary Chairs:

  • Christian Callegari (University of Pisa, Italy)
  • Sandrine Vaton (TELECOM Bretagne, France)

Technical Program Committee:

  • Bernhard Ager (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Andrea Baiocchi (University of Roma "La Sapienza", Italy)
  • Andreas Berger (FTW Vienna Research Center, Austria)
  • Gennaro Boggia (Politecnico di Bari, Italy)
  • Pierre Borgnat (ENS Lyon, France)
  • Lothar Braun (TU Munchen, Germany)
  • Nevil Brownlee (University of Auckland, New Zealand)
  • Christian Callegari (University of Pisa, Italy)
  • Michael Collins (RedJack, USA)
  • Hamza Dahmouni (INPT Rabat, Morocco)
  • Alberto Dainotti (CAIDA, USA)
  • Alessandro D'Alconzo, (FTW Vienna Research Center, Austria)
  • Luca Deri (Ntop, Italy)
  • Xenofontas Dimitropoulos (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Jeffrey Erman (AT&T Labs Research, USA)
  • Markus Fiedler (Blekinge Institute of Technology, Sweden)
  • Alessandro Finamore (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Kensuke Fukuda (NII Tokyo, Japan)
  • Paulo Goncalves (INRIA, France)
  • Francesco Gringoli (University of Brescia, Italy)
  • Mirja Kuhlewind (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Bruno Kauffmann (Orange Labs, France)
  • Christian Kreibich (ICSI/ICIR, USA)
  • Federico Larroca (ARTES, UdelaR, Uruguay)
  • Matthieu Latapy (LIP6 - CNRS and UPMC, France)
  • Ilias Leontiadis (Telefonica Research, Spain)
  • Marco Mellia (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)
  • Maurizio Naldi (University of Rome "Tor Vergata", Italy)
  • Ludovic Noirie (Alcatel-Lucent, France)
  • Philippe Owezarski (LAAS-CNRS, France)
  • Antonio Pescape (University of Naples, Italy)
  • Fabio Ricciato (Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria)
  • Dario Rossi (TELECOM ParisTech, France)
  • Mark Shaneck (Liberty University, USA)
  • Steve Uhlig (Queen Mary, University of London, UK)
  • Sandrine Vaton (TELECOM Bretagne, France)
  • Tanja Zseby (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)