Les commentaires sont clos.


10 Février 2014

Catégorie : Compétitions et challenges

Call for Participation:

ICFHR 2014 Competition on Recognition of Handwritten Mathematical Expressions (ICFHR 2014 CROHME)


We are pleased to announce the fourth International Competition on Handwritten Math Expression Recognition (CROHME), being held as part of the upcoming International Conference on Frontiers in Handwriting Recognition. Details of last three competitions were published in the proceedings of ICDAR 2013, ICFHR 2012 and ICDAR 2011.

A summary of tasks, important dates, file formats and available tools are provided below. Additional information will be available from the competition web pages ( in the coming weeks.

Important Dates

This year the competition will be organized with 3 tasks:

  1. Isolated math symbol recognition (new)
  2. Full expression recognition (as in the previous competitions)
  3. Full expression recognition with matrices (new)

The task 1 (isolated symbols) aims to compare state of the art recognizer (feature extraction + classification). Rejection of wrong segmented symbols capability will be tested. Open-source solutions will be highlighted. The task 2 (full expressions) will use exactly the same grammar and symbol set as in CROHME 2013. The task 3 (matrices) is an experimental benchmark to introduce a new level of difficulty in the competition with data and suitable evaluation tools.

The final ranking of the competition will be computed on task 2.

More information on-line.

File Formats and Tools

Training data will be provided in the same InkML format used in previous competitions. Outputs will be Comma-Separated Variable (CSV) format representing a labeled graphs (LG). Libraries for conversion between InkML and LG formats, along with tools for evaluation and visualization are available on-line.

Please forward this email to any researchers, companies or students that may be interested in the competition.


The ICFHR 2014 CROHME Organizing Committee

Utpal Garain (Indian Statistical Institute, India)
Harold Mouchère (University of Nantes, France)
Christian Viard-Gaudin (University of Nantes, France)
Richard Zanibbi (Rochester Institute of Technology, USA)