Les commentaires sont clos.

[iTWIST16] international Travelling Workshop on Interactions between Sparse models and Technology

1 Avril 2016

Catégorie : Conférence internationale


After Marseilles (2012) and Namur (2014), the third edition of the “international - Traveling Workshop on Interactions between Sparse models and Technology” (iTWIST) will take place in Aalborg, Denmark, on the 24th to 26th of August, 2016.

2 pages extended abstracts are welcomed until April 29th.

All other details are found on the iTWIST’16 WEBSITE:



The third edition of the “international - Traveling Workshop on Interactions between Sparse models and Technology” (iTWIST) is coming to Aalborg, the beautiful main city of Northern Jutland in Denmark. The workshop will be located on the campus of Aalborg University with excellent connections to the city center and less than 20 minutes from Aalborg’s international airport. The workshop aims to foster collaboration between international scientific teams by disseminating ideas through both specific oral/poster presentations and free discussions. For this edition, iTWIST’16 will feature 9 invited talks, as well as oral presentations and poster session.

Submissions will be published in open access proceedings on arXiv without any copyright restrictions to facilitate publication of further details elsewhere. Recycling recent published/submitted works is also authorized as a means to sustain interesting discussions during the workshop. The registration fees (200€) will include all lunches, coffee breaks and the social event (more information on the iTWIST’16 website).


Dates: 24th to 26th of August, 2016.


iTWIST’16 welcomes 2-page extended abstracts on any aspects of the following themes, all related to the theory, application and generalisation of the “sparsity paradigm”:

Sparsity-driven data sensing and processing

Matrix/manifold sensing/processing

Approximate probabilistic inference for sparse problems

Sparse machine learning and inference

Blind inverse problems and dictionary learning

Optimisation for sparse modelling

Information theory, geometry and randomness

Sparsity? What’s next?

Application of sparse models in non-convex/non-linear inverse problems

Complexity/accuracy tradeoffs in numerical methods and optimisation

Electronic/optical compressive sensors (hardware)


For this edition, the workshop is honored by the participation of the following renowned speakers:

Lieven Vandenberghe (UCLA, USA) Gerhard Wunder (TU-Berlin, Germany) Holger Rauhut (RWTH, Germany)
Petros Boufounos (MERL, USA) Florent Krzakala (ENS, France) Phil Schniter (Ohio State U., USA)
Karin Schnass (Innsbruck U., Austria) Rachel Ward (Texas U., Austin, USA) Bogdan Roman (Cambridge U., UK)


Due to clash of several conference deadlines in March, it was decided to postpone the submission deadline of the workshop to 29th of April. This is the final deadline and there will be no extensions.

Feb. 1, 2016 ...... 2-page paper submission opening

Apr. 1, 2016 .................. Registration opens

Apr. 29, 2016...... Paper submission ends

May 13, 2016 .... Confirmation of accepted papers

May 31, 2016 ..................... Program finalised

Aug. 1, 2016 .................. Registration closes

June 17, 2016 ............ Final manuscript due

Aug. 24 – 26, 2016 ........... Workshop (3 days)

(Detailed submission guidelines are provided on the iTWIST’16 website)


SCIENTIFIC ORGANISING COMMITTEE: Thomas Arildsen (AAU, Denmark) Morten Nielsen (AAU, Denmark) Laurent Jacques (UCL, Belgium) Pascal Frossard (EPFL, Switzerland) Pierre Vandergheynst (EPFL, Switzerland) Sandrine Anthoine (I2M, Aix-Marseille U., France) Yannick Boursier (CPPM, Aix-Marseille U., France) Aleksandra Pizurica (Ghent U., Belgium) Christine De Mol (ULB, Belgium) Christophe De Vleeschouwer (UCL, Belgium).

LOCAL ORGANISING COMMITTEE: Thomas Arildsen (AAU, Denmark) Morten Nielsen (AAU, Denmark)

Please feel free to forward this call for papers to anyone interested and distribute it anywhere you like. You can find a PDF version on the workshop website.

On behalf of the organising committee,

Thomas Arildsen, Sandrine Anthoine, Yannick Boursier